Messi, Haaland, Mbappé head Fifa’s The Best Award Shortlist


Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, and Kylian Mbappé have emerged as the standout figures on FIFA’s prestigious The Best Men’s Player shortlist, featuring a total of 12 nominees. Among them is England’s midfield sensation, Declan Rice, who secured his nomination following his captaincy at West Ham United, leading them to victory in the Europa Conference League.

Messi, the illustrious captain of the Argentine national team, is currently plying his trade for Inter Miami in Major League Soccer (MLS). He is vying for an unprecedented third win of the coveted award, having previously claimed the title in both 2019 and 2022. His remarkable career, including his pivotal role in Argentina’s triumphant journey to World Cup glory in Qatar 2022, places him as a formidable contender for this prestigious accolade.

Nevertheless, Messi faces formidable competition from Erling Haaland, the prolific forward from Manchester City. Haaland’s astounding achievements include netting a staggering 52 goals, a key factor in Manchester City’s remarkable season where they clinched the Premier League, Champions League, and FA Cup. The young Norwegian is poised to be a strong challenger for the title.

The remaining nominees on the shortlist are equally accomplished and deserving. Julián Álvarez, Marcelo Brozovic, Kevin De Bruyne, Ilkay Gündogan, Rodri, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Victor Osimhen, and Bernardo Silva join Messi, Haaland, Mbappé, and Rice in this elite group of athletes, each with their own impressive achievements and contributions to the world of football.

Meanwhile, Spain, fresh off their historic Women’s World Cup victory in Australia, has a significant presence on the women’s shortlist with four exceptional players. Aitana Bonmatí, Jenni Hermoso, Mapi León, and Salma Paralluelo are all in contention to follow in the footsteps of their compatriot, Alexia Putellas, by securing the Women’s Best Player award.

The women’s shortlist further includes standout talents like Linda Caicedo, Rachel Daly, Kadidiatou Diani, Caitlin Foord, Mary Fowler, Alex Greenwood, Amanda Ilestedt, Lauren James, Sam Kerr, Hinata Miyazawa, and Keira Walsh, showcasing the remarkable depth of talent in women’s football. Notably, Lindsey Horan is the sole representative from the United States among these exceptional athletes.

The voting process for the highly anticipated eighth annual awards is now open on and is set to conclude in mid-October. The panel of voters includes national team coaches, captains, respected journalists, and passionate fans, ensuring that the awards remain a true reflection of the football community’s collective recognition of outstanding talent and achievements.


Haaland should win this, we have Ballon d’or in the bag already. Make the new cat pick this one.

Penadogs it’s time to cry once again, the desert lord has been forgotten albeit he still plays. Messi is also playing outside Europe, he’s still getting recognition everywhere. What a time to be alive!!! Drinking penadogs tears daily ????????

Penadogs crying as usual cos Messi getting nominated for another award? Here to remind u that Penaldo hasn’t won anything relevant ever since 2017

Y’all free to cry in my mentions as usual. Cry wella in advance.

What do you think? Drop a comment below.

Leave a Comment